Storytelling Matters

The Live Art and the Power of Words

Reimagining Beauty – Y is for YES!

Blogging A to Z

If you are new to this blog, welcome!

For my Blogging from A to Z April Challenge, I am writing about how storytellers, writers, parents, teachers (in other words, just about anyone) can reimagine beauty to be more inclusive. That way, people with disabilities, varying body types and racial backgrounds, etc. (in other words, anyone) can feel and be recognized by the world as the beauties they truly are.

Reimagining Beauty – Y is for YES!

My friend Meg suffers from cancer. Thankfully, she will be fine, but to get to that state she must make a dramatic journey through the trials of chemo, invasive surgery, and recuperation.

In spite of her suffering, her outlook is positive, happy, bright, and optimistic. She makes sunshine dim.

You see, each and every step of her journey has been punctuated with a resounding β€œYES!”

YES! We caught it in time.

YES! My friends and family love me.

YES! I have complaints and fears (who wouldn’t?) but I talk about them so I can clear the decks and bring my YES! on.

YES! I can withstand this.

YES! I have confidence in my doctors.

YES! I will survive.

With all her hardships, she remembers her blessings. She blogs about gratitude on CaringBridge. Though her course of treatment makes daily blogging impossible, she remembers the good and shouts it out in cyberspace.

YES and yowza, she is beautiful.

YES people, as Barbara Fredrickson’s research is now confirming, are more likely to be healthier than their pessimistic counterparts. In their recent reviews of research, both James Clear of the Huffington Post and Emily Esfahani Smith of the Atlantic Monthly agree that optimism yields actual benefits to brain and body. In my view, this suggests that the power of positive thinking is a good and beautiful thing.

There are many ways that people sparkle with the beauty of optimism. When they challenge themselves, try new things, start, take risks, and look for the promise of roses instead of shadows around the next corner, they are doing the YES thing. Maybe they meditate, maybe they write, but whenever they are optimistic and effervescent, they nourish themselves and are inspiring to others.

Say YES! to a more inclusive definition of beauty. Say YES! to people who might not feel beautiful because popular culture defines and proliferates a limited range of images of beauty. Give everyone models of gorgeous optimism in stories, writings, and in what you say.

Say YES! to beautiful, positive thinking so that negative thoughts about beauty can fly away just like Meg’s illness will.

What do you think? Is optimism a beautiful thing?
**********
Copyright 2014 The Storycrafters. All rights reserved.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Reimagining Beauty – Y is for YES!

  1. Love this – this is the best way to go through life. There will always be struggles and difficulties – but a positive attitude can work wonders and change your life. And there is always something to be positive about. YES! Great post! πŸ™‚

  2. It absolutely is a beautiful thing. Thank you for the reminder!

  3. Malavikka on said:

    May god bless her! Nice write up.

    Visit http://www.malavikka.blogspot.com//

  4. Hell YES!!

    My friend is celebrating her time now free of an agressive cancer, it was hell YES all the way and I am still so impressed by her attitude throughout and beyond.

    Very inspiring post.

    Mars visiting from A to Z
    Curling Stones for Lego People

  5. Very powerful post! We both selected the word Yes for Y but handled it in very different ways I appreciate your comment on my blog about being a Yes Woman. I have really learned a lot from visiting your blog during the A to Z challenge and will continue to return. I too have a very ill friend and she never ceases to amaze me with the beauty that comes from within, shining through and overpowering her illness. I wish you and your friend well.

    • Thanks, I like your post as well. Do visit again and let me know when you do (I am thrilled and humbled that you learned something). Continue to be the Yes woman who gets the “no” side of things. Will visit you again too. Love this A to Z connection thing!

  6. Ed Hotaling on said:

    I have long known the power of positivity. Sometimes it can be hard to hang onto. Given the hectic week we just had in this house, this reminder is quite timely. Thank you.

We would love to hear your thoughts.. Please leave a reply!

