Storytelling Matters

The Live Art and the Power of Words

Reimagining Beauty – T is for Talent

Blogging A to Z

If you are new to this blog, welcome!

For my Blogging from A to Z April Challenge, I am writing about how storytellers, writers, parents, teachers (in other words, just about anyone) can reimagine beauty to be more inclusive. That way, people with disabilities, varying body types and racial backgrounds, etc. (in other words, anyone) can feel and be recognized by the world as the beauties they truly are.

Reimagining Beauty – T is for Talent

It seems like everywhere you look, all around the world, there is another “Got Talent” show. But it’s not just television that fancies the franchise. Competitions crop up in countywide events and local fairs. People everywhere like to display their talents and receive accolades. An unlikely marriage of hype and truth.

The hype is obvious. But the truth?

The people who compete on these shows don’t all wear size 4, they’re not all ripped. Their beauty lies elsewhere.

When you hear a singer who is blessed with a vocal gift, you know it; whether you mean to or not, your mouth can drop open in awe. When you watch someone’s hand fluidly and brilliantly replicate, on paper, tablet or canvas, the scene in which you are sitting, you can understand why the phrase “be still my heart” is spoken. The profound beauty of talent can still a room and suspend time.

Although it is nice to receive accolades, we don’t have to win competitions and the compliments of celebrity judges for these gifts to be beautiful. They just are.

Talents come in a variety of flavors. One young man I know can look at a computer and bend it to his will. A photographer friend can take a picture of a fence and sell it as art. I’ve watched a college student leap so high and fluidly that he makes ballet seem an easy breezy, DIY dance form. Mechanics who can make engines hum, those who listen and intuitively understand, math whizzes who hear music in numbers – all have beautiful gifts.

Why can’t a princess seek a prince who can write a fantastic story or who can teach physics? Why can’t boy meets boy stories focus on the beauty of their abilities?

Beauty has many aspects. Talent is just one of them. Not everybody has the same talent, but everybody can be beautiful for the talents that they have. By writing and speaking about the beauty of talent, we can encourage people to notice the beautiful talents in themselves and others.

What talents do you see in life and literature that are beautiful? What talents have you been exposed to on the web that took your breath away, making you feel like you were witnessing great beauty? I’d love to hear your comments.

**********
Copyright 2014. The Storycrafters. All rights reserved.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Reimagining Beauty – T is for Talent

  1. I love wit! When someone says something so apropos to the situation that just cuts through expectations and right into the heart of the matter often with a humorous twist….my 3rd son does this with an amazing regularity….Thanks Jeri for urging us to stop to think for a minute!

  2. As a writer, artist and former dancer, I find all of those that express themselves through the arts, be it dance, theatre, singing, writing, visual art and more, to be very beautiful.

  3. Paul R Burns on said:

    My grandson=talent
    My daughter = talent
    My son-in-law = talent

  4. I think about talent often. A book on the topic that really speaks to me is “The Talent Code.” Its theme is that hard work is how we develop our talents. Too often individuals expect talent alone to be sufficient for achieving one’s goals. So for my money, talent is overrated. Tenacity (one of my favorite T words) trumps talent most of the time. via A to Z Challenge

    • Talent absolutely needs to be cultivated and worked at. So tenacity is hugely relevant – there are people who don’t realize how much hard work goes into developing talents. Nice point!

  5. This is an excellent post, the kind of person wants to come back and read again. I’m so glad I found your blog. I am so glad to subscribed to this feed.
    I’m looking forward to more posts. This is my first year in the A-Z, and I can’t believe how many interesting people I’ve met and blogs I’ve read. What a worthwhile experience it’s been. I also love your take on unique, and thank God for wit!
    Deb@ http://debioneille.blogspot.com

We would love to hear your thoughts.. Please leave a reply!

